PDA

View Full Version : Sema bill in washington state


sstock
02-06-2011, 08:47 AM
To all Hotrodders/Streetrodders and T buckteers, there is a bill in this legislative session (currently in session) to enact the SEMA model. Right now, Washington only has a piece of the SEMA as written, this will, if passed, put the hobbyist and car enthusiast in this industry on the map and protect us from green legislation that threatens to erode it away. On Feb. 9th at 0330, it is open for public opinion in Olympia. Support this bill if you can to help enact it into law.

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT

Pro-Hobbyist Street Rod and Custom Vehicle Bill Introduced in Washington State


SEMA model legislation to create a vehicle titling and registration classification for street rods and custom vehicles has been introduced in the Washington State Legislature by Senator Mike Carrell (Carrell.michael@leg.wa.gov). The bill (S.B. 5585) defines a street rod as an altered vehicle manufactured before 1949 and a custom as an altered vehicle at least 25 years old and manufactured after 1948. Under the bill, kit cars and replica vehicles will be assigned a certificate of title bearing the same model year designation as the production vehicle they most closely resemble.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Washington State Senate Transportation Committee (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Support for S.B. 5585

• S.B. 5585 provides specific registration and titling classes for street rods and customs, including kits and replicas.

• S.B. 5585 allows for the use of non-original materials and creates a titling criterion that assigns these vehicles the same model year designation as the production vehicle they most closely resemble.

• S.B. 5585 exempts street rods and customs from a range of standard equipment requirements (only that equipment required in the model year that the vehicle resembles) and emissions inspections.

• S.B. 5585 provides that vehicles titled and registered as street rods and custom vehicles may only be used for occasional transportation, exhibitions, club activities, parades, tours, etc. and not for general daily transportation.

• S.B. 5585 permits the use of blue dot taillights.

DON’T DELAY! Please contact members of the Senate Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to urge their support for S.B. 5585.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org. Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts. Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

Washington State Senate Transportation Committee


Senator Mary Margaret Haugen - Chair
Phone: 360/786-7618
Email: haugen.marymargaret@leg.wa.gov

Senator Scott White - Vice Chair
Phone: 360/786-7690
Email: white.scott@leg.wa.gov

Senator Curtis King
Phone: 360/786-7626
Email: king.curtis@leg.wa.gov

Senator Joe Fain
Phone: 360/786-7692
Email: fain.joe@leg.wa.gov

Senator Jerome Delvin
Phone: 360/786-7614
Email: delvin.jerome@leg.wa.gov

Senator Tracey Eide
Phone: 360/786-7658
Email: Eide.tracey@leg.wa.gov

Senator Doug Ericksen
Phone: 360/786-7682
Email: ericksen.doug@leg.wa.gov

Senator Andy Hill
Phone: 360/786-7672
Email: hill.andy@leg.wa.gov

Senator Steve Hobbs
Phone: 360/786-7686
Email: hobbs.steve@leg.wa.gov

Senator Steve Litzow
Phone: 360/786-7641
Email: litzow.steve@leg.wa.gov

Senator Sharon Nelson
Phone: 360/786-7667
Email: nelson.sharon@leg.wa.gov

Senator Margarita Prentice
Phone: 360/786-7616
Email: prentice.margarita@leg.wa.gov

Senator Kevin Ranker
Phone: 360/786-7678
Email: ranker.kevin@leg.wa.gov

Senator Tim Sheldon
Phone: 360/786-7668
Email: sheldon.tim@leg.wa.gov

Senator Paull Shin
Phone: 360/786-7640
Email: shin.paull@leg.wa.gov

Senator Dan Swecker
Phone: 360/786-7638
Email: swecker.dan@leg.wa.gov

B.C.
02-07-2011, 06:32 PM
sstock thanks for posting this. You have some skin in the game now. Steve with SEMA is a very capable guy but he needs a show of support from the people of your state to be effective.

sstock
02-07-2011, 11:53 PM
Bob, I have emailed everyone of those congressmen/women and in support and posted up on another four forums to do the same. Hopefully it will show some promise this time around, the trend is good across the country at least it seems so.

Steve

T=Test
02-08-2011, 08:49 AM
Try getting one of these passed in N.C. and see what the Insurance Commissioner tells you about why this will never happen here. Also the DMV licencing and theft division.

Big stink over a fiberglass truck trying to get titled as an original. Head of DMV lost job and truck to never be titled in this state. Paid 150,000.00 just in labor to build this truck. Beautiful but has caused a lot of headaches for the rest of us builders.

All about money, customs and hotrods and custom bikes titled the year built and taxed as if a new car of that year. Must have three appraisals from dealers or specialty car Mfg. company. Reciepts for parts to build car did not include labor, so this is where that comes into effect.

It sucks that each state can do as it wishes in so much that effects all citizens in each state and when the Federal Govt. can not do what is neccessary to make rules that apply to all in each state.