PDA

View Full Version : Titling a kit


B.C.
12-11-2006, 11:17 AM
We are doing our part. Working with SEMA and our Stat Rep. Titling is different in every state and there is no one way to get er done. The Feds and the States are not on the same page and to jack it up more it takes a WORLD manufacture identifier # to have a legit 17 digit vin.
This would be a good thread to post a bit on how you got your kit titled and the state your in. My best advice is to understand the rules before you go into the DMV.
If you have trouble titling a Spirit Bucket please feel free to give us a call and I will be of any assistance I can. It's our goal to get you started out safe and legal, from there it's up to you.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

B.C.
12-16-2006, 04:05 PM
I just found this site and it has lots of info. http://crankshaftcoalition.com/wiki/How_to_title_a_hot_rod

B.C.
12-19-2006, 05:20 PM
Good info. http://www.tuffy.com/carcaretips/vin_number.html

B.C.
02-21-2007, 11:47 AM
Details:

Jason Tolleson, jasont@sema.org
SEMA 202/783-6007, ext. 39


URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT

Pro-Hobbyist Street Rod and Custom Vehicle Bill Introduced in Arkansas; Committee Hearing Scheduled for Feb. 20

SEMA model legislation to amend the vehicle titling and registration classification for street rods and create a classification for custom vehicles has been introduced in the Arkansas House of Representatives and will be considered by committee on Feb. 20. The bill (H.B. 1453) defines a street rod as an altered vehicle manufactured before 1949 and a custom as an altered vehicle at least 25 years old and manufactured after 1948. Under the bill, kit cars and replica vehicles will be assigned a certificate of title bearing the same model year designation as the production vehicle they most closely resemble. The bill mirrors model legislation created by SEMA and recently enacted in Illinois, Missouri, Rhode Island, Montana, Hawaii, Maine and Colorado.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Arkansas House Committee on Public Transportation (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Support for H.B. 1453

For those interested in attending the hearing to show their support, the committee will meet on Tues., Feb. 20 at the following address and time:

State Capitol, Room 428
Little Rock, Arkansas
10:00 a.m.

H.B. 1453 provides specific registration and titling classes for street rods and customs, including kits and replicas.
H.B. 1453 allows for the use of non-original materials and creates a titling criterion that assigns these vehicles the same model year designation as the production vehicle they most closely resemble.
H.B. 1453 exempts street rods and customs from a range of standard equipment requirements (only that equipment required in the model year that the vehicle resembles).
H.B. 1453 provides that vehicles titled and registered as street rods and custom vehicles may only be used for occasional transportation, exhibitions, club activities, parades, tours, etc. and not for general daily transportation.
H.B. 1453 provides for special license plates for street rods and custom vehicles and permits the use of blue dot taillights.
DONíT DELAY! Please contact members of the House Committee on Public Transportation immediately by phone or e-mail to urge their support for H.B. 1453.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to stevem@sema.org. Thank you for your assistance.

House Committee on Public Transportation

Rep. Robbie Wills, Chair
Business Phone: 501-730-4677
Fax: 501-329-0321
E-mail: willsr@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Frank Glidewell, Vice Chair
Business Phone: 479-646-6300
Fax: 479-452-2978
E-mail: glidewellf@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Lenville Evans
Business Phone: 501-676-6780
Fax: 501-676-2106

Rep. David Wyatt
Business Phone: 870-251-1044
Fax: 870-251-3519
E-mail: wyattd@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Monty Davenport
Business Phone: 870-449-6745

Rep. Otis Davis
Business Phone: 870-792-7003
E-mail: daviso@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Ray Kidd
Business Phone: 870-761-7727
E-mail: kiddr@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Fred Allen
Business Phone: 501-225-4979
Fax: 501-225-4762
E-mail: FredAllen99@comcast.net

Rep. Johnny Hoyt
Business Phone: 501-354-4360
E-mail: hoytj@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Lance Reynolds
Business Phone : 501-589-3000
E-mail: reynoldsl@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Gene Shelby
Business Phone: 501-623-2606
E-mail: shelbyg@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Jim House
Business Phone: 479-443-5883
E-mail: housej@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Johnnie Roebuck
Business Phone: 870-403-4382
Fax: 870-246-6974
E-mail: roebuckj@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Bobby Pierce
Business Phone: 501-888-4390
Fax: 870-942-8737
E-mail: pierceb@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Bryan King
Business Phone: 870-438-6434
E-mail: kingb@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Barry Hyde
Business Phone: 501-371-0255
Fax: 501-371-0020
E-mail: hydeb@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Donna Hutchinson
Business Phone: 479-876-6011
E-mail: hutchinsond@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Larry Cowling
Business Phone: 870-542-7452
Fax: 870-542-7743
E-mail: cowlingl@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Randy Stewart
Business Phone: 870-398-4630
E-mail: stewartr@arkleg.state.ar.us

Rep. Dan Greenberg
Business Phone: 501-821-4808
E-mail: rep.greenberg@gmail.com